

28th ANNUAL NURSING CELEBRATION

Attention, all nurses and friends of nursing! Mark your calendars for the 28th annual **Nursing Celebration**, hosted by the Texas Nurses Association, District 9, with proceeds benefitting the Texas Nurses District 9 Foundation, the public charity formed by the Texas Nurses Association, District 9. Nursing Celebration is scheduled for **Thursday, November 8, 2018** at the Westin Galleria Houston, 5060 West Alabama, Houston, Texas 77056. Reception and silent auction begins at 6:00 p.m., with dinner and award ceremony at 7:00 p.m. Corporate sponsorships are available.

The following Twenty Outstanding Nurses will be honored at this event. The President's Award will be given to a nurse advocate and leader in nursing. Additionally, nursing scholarships and research grants will be presented to these deserving nurses and nursing students.

We also have Special Guest and Presentation by: Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee

20 Outstanding Nurses of 2018

Kathy Arthurs, Houston Methodist Baytown Hospital Khara Breeden, Houston Baptist University Emily Cerreta, Katy Internal Medicine Associates Mona Cockerham, Sam Houston State University Stacy Drake, Cizik School of Nursing at UTHealth Wyona Freysteinson, Texas Woman's University Petra Grami, CHI St. Luke's Health-Baylor St. Luke's Medical Center Margaret Grue, Harris Health System-Ben Taub General Hospital Mary Harris, Houston Methodist Sugar Land Hospital Andrea Harrow, CHI St. Luke's Health-Sugar Land Hospital Agnes Hsu, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center Riza Mauricio, UT McGovern Medical School Joanne Oliver, Healthcare Resources Maureen Padilla, Harris Health System Concetta Payne, Michael E DeBakey Veterans Affairs Medical Center Cathy Rozmus, Cizik School of Nursing at UTHealth Rowena Sano, Memorial Hermann Greater Heights Hospital Cindy Segal, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center Kham Thai, Memorial Hermann Greater Heights Hospital Donna Walls, Elsevier

President Award Recipients

Deborah Jones, Senior Vice President, Dean & Professor University of Texas Medical Branch

David Marshall, Vice President, Chief Nurse, Patient Care Services Officer University of Texas Medical Branch



Donna Wooten Nursing Education Scholarship Recipients
Maureen Caballero, Lone Star College Kingwood
Osasere Ogieva, Alvin Community College
Mary Vallery, Lone Star College Montgomery

<u>District 9 Sabina Fritsch Nursing Scholarship Recipient</u> Mischelle Hopper, Texas Woman's University

D9 Scholarship Recipients

Amanda Chappell, UTHealth Cizik School of Nursing Meagan Dawkins, Chamberlain University, Pearland Campus Jessica Laureano, Sam Houston State University, School of Nursing Ariana Porfidia, Sam Houston State University, School of Nursing

Research Grant Recipient
Tania Celia, Texas Woman's University

For more information, contact Melanie Truong at the TNA District 9 office, 713-523-3619 or email at tna9@tnadistrict9.com. More details and the link to register is available at www.tnadistrict9.com, click Nursing Celebration. If unable to attend this splendid gala, monetary contributions and/or donations to the silent auction would be greatly appreciated and would benefit nursing scholarships and grant funding for Nursing Celebration 2019.

About Texas Nurses District 9 Foundation

The Texas Nurses District 9 Foundation was founded in 2009 to ensure the continuation of Houston area nurses and nursing students' scholarship and research awards.

###